TUNE YOUR LOOP: Questions to keep you sharp.

Tune Your Loop is a series of posts consisting of questions from ISA Training Courses.

1. Who is responsible for selecting Safety Integrity Levels?

[ordered_list style=”lower-alpha”]
  1. OEM
  2. Engineering Firm
  3. Instrumentation Vendor
  4. Control System Vendor
  5. End User[/ordered_list]

2. A Safety Instrumented System is comprised of the following:

[ordered_list style=”lower-alpha”]
  1. Sensor(s)
  2. Logic Solver(s)
  3. Final Element(s)
  4. Burner Train
  5. A, B and C[/ordered_list]

3. To meet FM-7605 and supply a Factory Mutual listed PLC based Burner
Management System solution one must:

[ordered_list style=”lower-alpha”]
  1. Apply the concepts of IEC61508
  2. Apply the concepts of ANSI / ISA 84 standard
  3. Apply the concepts of NFPA 85 and 86
  4. Apply FM 7-45
  5. None of the above[/ordered_list]

4. What Safety Integrity Levels are typically used in the process industry?

[ordered_list style=”lower-alpha”]
  1. SIL 1 only
  2. SIL 2 only
  3. SIL 3 only
  4. SIL 4 only
  5. SIL 1, 2, and 3[/ordered_list]

5. What role does Functional Testing play in determining Safety Integrity Level
capability of a given Safety Instrumented Function?

[ordered_list style=”lower-alpha”]
  1. No impact at all
  2. Impacts Safety Integrity Level by a factor of 2
  3. Functional Test Interval is part of the equation used to calculate Safety
    Integrity Level
  4. No impact for SIL 1 and 2
  5. No impact for SIL 3[/ordered_list]


What are your answers before you read ahead?

1. e

2. e

3. a

4. e

5. c


From the ISA Course Safety Instrumented Burner Management Systems: A How To Primer (ES17PC) pre-instructional survey.


Pin It on Pinterest