Video: Overview of the Parts of The ISA-95 Standard

The ANSI/ISA-95 Standard is currently divided among 5 parts with plans for a 6th part. Each of these “Parts” has a different focus, and with roughly 300 pages each, that can seem confusing. The folks at Avid Solutions put together a quick video that will hopefully give you a taste for the contents of each and how they relate to each other.

ISA-95 is a multi-part international standard for the integration of enterprise and control systems. ISA-95 consists of models and terminology. These can be used to determine which information, has to be exchanged between systems for sales, finance and logistics and systems for production, maintenance and quality. This information is structured in UML models, which are the basis for the development of standard interfaces between ERP and MES systems. The ISA-95 standard can be used for several purposes. A few are:

* A guide for the definition of user requirements
* The selection of MES suppliers
* A basis for the development of MES systems and databases


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

, , , , , , ,